Graphic Design by  Blackbird Revolt

                                                                         Graphic Design by Blackbird Revolt

This year, help us celebrate the work of youth, adults, and organizations who are creating peace in our communities, while raising funds to continue Men As Peacemakers’ important work in ending violence against women and children.

We invite you to join us for an evening of food, entertainment, and activities for all! We’ll be holding a raffle, silent auction, and you’ll have the opportunity to interact with MAP’s staff and learn more about our programming. 

In the spirit of community, we will once again offer our "Pay It Forward" option! You can purchase a ticket for someone who may not otherwise be able to attend the Celebration of Community Peacemakers. 


**More details COMING SOON**

**Follow our Facebook Event Page for updates**

nominations are now open for youth, adults, and organizations who exemplify peacemaking in our community.


Steve Rolland Youth Peacemaker Award

Steve Rolland was a Duluth police officer, known for his compassion and ability to resolve conflicts by many. He was honored as a community peacemaker in the 1996 Celebration of Community Peacemakers. You can recognize the work that Rolland did by nominating a youth in the community that you think is creating or building peace in our community. Youth members must be juniors or seniors in high school to qualify for the $1000 scholarship.


Gary Gordon Adult Peacemaker Award

Gary Gordon is a past recipient of the Adult Peacemaker Award for his work to bring Duluth’s Islamic and Jewish communities together. Nominate someone that you think is creating or building peace in our community. Past nominees have included: drop-in center director, youth service worker, day care provider, government official, men’s group coordinator, mentor and a teacher.



Nominate an organization, group, or agency that you think is creating or building peace in our community.  Past recipients have been for profits/and non-profits that have taken steps to make our community a more peaceful place.

If you are interested in sponsoring this event,

learn more by contacting Jesse Geary. 


sponsorship packet coming soon!

Event History & Past Awardees

The beginnings of Men As Peacemakers’ (MAP) Community Peacemaker Celebration date back to the beginning of our organization. Our non-profit began offering awards and scholarships to community-nominated “peacemakers” - individuals and organizations in the greater Duluth area who exemplified the work of building peace and promoting non-violence.


1995 – 1997: Bill Kron, Maxine Taylor

1996: Vance Hopkins, Jan Provost, Steve Rolland, Steve O’Neil, Angie Miller and their Children, Tyran Schroyer

1998: Elissa Downs, Rachel Kincade, Matthew Sandvik, Linda Soderstrom, Marshall Talley, Susana Pelayo Woodward

1999: Shirley Duke, Kevin Fawcett, Michelle Malila, Cassy Furo, Katie Van Etta

2001: Lanisha Jackson, Jean DeRider, Erin Stauber, Angie Rolle, Richie Townsend

2002: Andrew Olson, Gay Trachsel, Clayton-Jackson-McGhie Memorial, Committee and three of its leaders: Henry Banks, Katherine Osthos, Heidi Bakk - Hansen

2003: Megan Bartell, Anna King, Leah Olm, Bob Grytdahl, Donna Howard, Arrowhead Youth Soccer Association, Northland Anti War Coalition

2004: Joel Nelson, Gary Gordon, St. Mark’s AME Church

2007: Brittany Miller, Doug Bowen- Bailey, Sara Thomsen

2008: Salisa Grant, Kathy and Andy (Wil)  Anderson, Nettleton Magnet School

2009: Aaron Gelineau, Quinton Witherspoon

2010: Amazing Grace Bakery and Café, Sigurd Haller, Jeremiah Strong

2011: Cortez (CJ) Ham, Students for the Future, Thom Storm

2013: Jeremy Lopez, Greg Morse, Loaves and Fishes

2014: Kathy Nelson, Billy Menor, Trans*formation

2015: Kim Sisto Robinson, Nalani Harris, Greysolon Plaza Resident Council

2016: Sharon Witherspoon, Bryce Holak & Michael Kelly, American Indian Community Housing Organization (AICHO)

2017: Marlon Grant, Kong Xiong, Superior African Heritage Community (SAHC)